Sometimes (I think I’m over you)

I’m sure everyone single one of you can relate to the process of trying to get over someone.

Process is definitely the right word.

It doesn’t happen overnight and it’s not always permanent.

When you first lose someone you care about it hurts. No matter how it happens. But then, after a while you suddenly realise it’s 4 in the afternoon and you haven’t thought about them yet today. And soon you can go the whole day without them entering your thoughts at all. But, inevitably, they’ll be back before too long. You can be enjoying your day, going about your business, and then you see someone across the street that looks like them or their favourite song comes on the radio.

I know in my case, I find it takes a really really long time to fully get over somebody. And I’m talking months, if not years. That’s my personal experience and I know everyone is different. But it’s incredibly tough when the other person moves on before you, no matter how long it’s been since you were together.

I wrote this song quite a few months ago, about this very situation. About the moment when you’ve got enough distance from everything to realise that maybe the other person is not entirely to blame for what happened. About the feeling of loving and hating them at the same time. And about those times when you really miss them, but you know they’re never coming back.

Just to clarify, I am now completely over said person. And writing this song actually helped me work that out. This isn’t an unusual step in the songwriting process for me and it’s one of the reasons why I love it. The song is definitely more about me than about the other person.

We all get our hearts broken at some point or another. That’s just a fact of life. But it doesn’t make it any easier to live through.

But we do get through it.

We all come out the other side.

Eventually we stop thinking about them all the time, and only think about them sometimes. And then you reach the point where, when you do think of them, it doesn’t hurt anymore.

 

(One benefit of getting my heart broken over and over again is I get plenty of songwriting material! 😛 Listen to ‘Sometimes’ and my many other songs on similar topics any time you like on my Soundcloud page.)

Sometimes

It’s been a while since I heard from you
It’s been a while since you heard from me too
But lately you’ve been on my mind
I can’t explain it, so don’t ask why

Sometimes I think I’m over us
That all the memories have turned to dust
But then you enter my thoughts and I can’t make you leave
Just like I couldn’t make you stay with me

[chorus]
Sometimes your eyes
Make me fall or make me fly
Sometimes your voice
Makes me scream or just forget all the noise

I had a dream about you last night
I met your girlfriend and we had a fight
She thought I was trying to win you back
I said “Honey, don’t worry – I’ve never had the knack”

Coz guys come around but they never wanna stay
I don’t know why they all walk away
I think sometimes I hold on too tight
Or I let them walk away when I should put up a fight

[chorus]

Why did I let you treat me this way?
Why did I hold back everything I wanted to say?
Why did I let you walk away?
Why did I never once ask you to stay?

It’s been a while since I heard from you
It’s been a while since you heard from me too
But I had a dream about you last night
And I missed you so much that it made me cry

[chorus x2]

Leave a Reply

